What's the substitute for sundried tomatoes?

For one half cup chopped sun dried tomatoes, substitute either 1.5 cups drained canned tomatoes OR 4 to 6 fresh plum tomatoes, seeded and chopped. Both substitutions will yield a thinner sauce.