What is mario from super mario brothers last name?

During Japan's 30th anniversary Super Mario Bros. event this past weekend, Shigeru Miyamoto apparently stated that Mario's full name is “Mario Mario”. As for Luigi, he's “Luigi Mario”.

---

Mario's full name is Mario Mario. His brother Luigi is Luigi Mario.