When did people start carving pumpkins?

It is believed that the custom of making jack-o'-lanterns at Hallowe'en time began in Ireland in the 19th century, though they usually carved turnips or gourds. In the mid-to-late 19th century pumpkin carving became an established Halloween tradition.