Why is it called texas holdem?

The exact origins of Hold’em remain a bit murky. However, most agree the game was birthed in its namesake state (Texas) during the early 1900’s. There, in the great Lone Star state, it remained virtually unnoticed for decades until this poker genre was finally launched in 1967 in Las Vegas.