What's the lifespan of a dandelion?

A dandelion plant can grow for 5 - 10 years. Because the tap root goes so deep into the ground, they take firm root and can be difficult to eradicate.

---

Individual plants may survive for 10 to 13 years in undisturbed sites. Dandelion seeds can form a relatively persistent seedbank. Seed in soil has a half-life of 3 months. If buried, a few seeds may still remain viable at the end of 5 years.