How did granny smith apples get their name?

The Granny Smith apples originated in Australia in 1868. They are named after Maria Ann Smith, who propagated a seedling found growing by a creek on her property when she was 69 years old. Known by locals as Granny Smith, the apples soon became known as granny smith's apples.