Why did the u.s drop the atomic bomb?

To cause Japan to end the war in the Pacific. When the bombing of Hiroshima on August 6, 1945, did not immediately bring about their surrender, a second bomb was dropped on Nagasaki three days later. The Japanese surrendered on August 15th.