What's an alternate officer?

Alternate Responsible Officer. An employee or officer of a sponsor who has been nominated by the sponsor and approved by the Department of State to assist the Responsible Officer in carrying out the responsibilities outlined in 62.11. An Alternate Responsible Officer must be a United States person.