How long is a quarter in a professional basketball game?

12 minutes

---

In a one-time preseason experiment, the game will be played using four 11-minute quarters, according to an NBA news release. Currently, each quarter is 12 minutes long, (48 minutes total), which is played out on average over 2 hours 15 minutes, including pauses, timeouts and other breaks in play.