What is in batteries?

Chemically, a typical alkaline dry cell battery has a zinc anode and a manganese dioxide cathode. The electrolyte is a non-acidic basic paste. Chemically, a typical non-alkaline dry cell battery has a zinc anode and a carbon rod manganese dioxide cathode. The electrolyte is typically an acidic paste