What is a bread and butter?

Bread and butter pickles are a type of pickle using a blend of turmeric, clove, celery seed, and red pepper flakes for a rounded-out flavor. Most importantly sugar makes them sweet as opposed to their sour and tangy counterparts, dill pickles