How long do female dogs have their period for?

A dog getting her period is usually referred to as the dog “going into heat.” It usually occurs about twice a year, with the first cycle coming sometime between the time the dog reaches six months of age and her first birthday. Each cycle will last anywhere from 1 to 4 weeks.