Who was the first grandmaster?

Grandmaster is a title awarded to chess players by FIDE, the world chess organization. In 1950 FIDE created the title of Grandmaster and awarded the first Grandmaster title to 27 players. Included were current World champion Mikhail Botvinnik and top players in the first Candidates Tournament.