Do we lose an hour or do we gain an hour?

When Daylight Savings Time starts, you gain an hour by moving the clock back one hour. When Daylight Savings Time ends, you lose an hour by moving the clock forward one hour.

---

You really don't lose any time, it is just moved forward or backward depending on the season. 24 hours is still 24 hours.