When do mosquitoes go away?

Mosquitoes never really go away, but they do hibernate in cold weather. They prefer temperatures over 80 degrees and at temperatures of 50 degrees and less they will go into hibernation. Some will lay eggs in the water and die and others will find a hole to hibernate in and wait for warmer weather.

---

At temperatures less than 50 degrees, mosquitos shut down for the winter and some hibernate while others die. The first frost is usually a reliable sign of the end of mosquito season.