What's a crab?

Crabs are decapod crustaceans of the infraorder Brachyura, which typically have a very short projecting "tail", usually hidden entirely under the thorax. They live in all the world's oceans, in fresh water, & on land, are generally covered with a thick exoskeleton, and have a single pair of pincers.