What is the difference between sterling silver and regular silver?

Fine silver is 99.9% pure silver. In this form the metal is beautiful and suffers from minimal tarnish, but it's generally too soft and malleable for many uses, including silver jewellery. Instead the silver is alloyed with copper to create sterling silver, which is 92.5% pure silver and 7.5% copper