Who sang send in the clowns?

Stephen Sondheim wrote the song in 1973 specifically for Glynis Johns, who created the role of Desirée on Broadway in the musical A Little Night Music. Frank Sinatra's cover made it famous. Judy Collins' version topped the charts in 1975 and 77. Many other artists have performed it.