What does rajab mean?

Rajab is the seventh month of the Islamic calendar. The lexical definition of the classical Arabic verb rajaba is to respect which could also mean "be awe or be in fear", of which Rajab is a derivative. This month is regarded as one of the four sacred months in Islam in which battles are prohibited.