What is the difference between a pomelo and a grapefruit?

Grapefruit and pomelos are both citrus fruit, but that’s where the similarity ends. The pomelo is a separate species while the grapefruit is a hybrid resulting from crossing sweet orange (Citrus sinesis) with pomelo (Citrus maxima).