Where did the word jackolantern come from?

Jack-o'-lanterns, are a Halloween tradition that came to the United States from Irish immigrants. Its name comes from the phenomenon of ignis fatuus, a strange light seen over Irish peat bogs, these lights are referred to as jack-o'-lanterns or will-o'-the-wisp. its earliest known use dates to 16 60