What's the difference between a movie and a film?

Movie is simply an abbreviation of Moving Picture... When invented they were Recorded on Film. and the terms are more or less are used interchangeably. in some circles "Film" is used to describe Important or Prestige content; with Movie meaning an average or commercial product