What causes puffy feet?

Common causes of foot, leg, and ankle swelling. ... In most cases, swelling occurs as a result of certain lifestyle factors, such as: Being overweight. Excess body mass can decrease blood circulation, causing fluid to build up in the feet, legs, and ankles