What was the world's first atheist country?

In modern history, the Soviet Union was the first Atheist regime. After the Russian Revolution of 1917, it became the first Communist nation. The basic tenants of Communism, based on the works of Karl Marx, seeks to repress and destroy the power of the church and give glory to the common worker.