What's the difference between an android and a robot?

A robot can, but does not necessarily have to be, in the form of a human. An android is always in the form of a human.

---

A robot is a programmed machine specially designed to carry out a series of complex tasks with speed and precision. Androids are basically humanoid robots designed to look like humans. Droid is an abbreviation of the term android, which refers to a robot which may or may not look like a human.