Where did yas queen come from?

Yas queen is a type of urban gay slang that has become mainstream in recent years. “Yas” originated from ball culture in the 1980s, according to The Huffington Post. Ball culture was an underground sub-culture for the LGBT community in the United States, with performers, drag shows and prizes