What makes a goldfish swim upside down?

Goldfish may swim upside down if they have an issue with their swim bladder or have gas. The swim bladder helps a goldfish regulate its position in the water. At times, a fish may also ingest something that causes a build up of gas and can make it difficult for it to stay upright in the water.