Why did doughnuts have holes?

"Theory behind why, is because it was necessary. Once bakers started adding egg yolks to their doughnut recipes, the dough became super rich, which made it difficult to cook the pastries evenly. The center would be gooey & raw while the edges would be crisp. The solution? Get rid of the middle."

---

Donuts have holes so they cook evenly.

---

Doughnuts were once fried in a deep fryer, like french fries, the hole ensured an even cooking process.