Is red wine vinegar the same as balsamic vinegar?

No. Red wine vinegar is much more acidic and tastes much stronger than balsamic vinegar, while balsamic vinegar is softer, sweeter, and fruitier. The consistency of the two types of vinegar is also different, as red wine vinegar is thin and watery while balsamic vinegar is thicker and stickier.