What does the word metaphor mean?

a figure of speech in which a word or phrase is applied to an object or action to which it is not literally applicable. "her poetry depends on suggestion and metaphor"

---

a figure of speech in which a word or phrase is applied to an object or action to which it is not literally applicable.