Why is it tomato considered a fruit?

Scientifically speaking, a tomato is definitely a fruit, but it's used as a vegetable in cooking. True fruits are developed from the ovary in the base of the flower, and contain the seeds of the plant. Blueberries, raspberries, and oranges are true fruits, and so are many kinds of nut.