What's the difference between white cheddar cheese and yellow cheddar cheese?

There is no difference in taste when comparing white and yellow cheddar of the same age. All cheese is naturally white, or off white, or even a golden yellow, depending on the type of milk used. The color comes from the flavorless Annatto seed, which gives Wisconsin cheddar that pumpkin orange hue.