How do you tell if a butterfly is a girl or a boy?

Males tend to have a more slender abdomen and females tend to have larger rounded abdomens. Some species can be identified by differences in the shape of the forewings. Some species exhibit sexual dimorphism, meaning that the two sexes look completely different.