What is the shadow realm?

The Shadow Realm is a separate plane of existence shrouded in infinite darkness. Thor is able to communicate with Hemidall's (Idris Elba) son, Axl (Kieron L. Dyer), and learns that the kidnapped children are in the Shadow Realm.