Is there a bone in a dog's tail?

A dog's tail is an extension of its backbone and contains nine bones.

---

Dogs do have bones in their tails. Dog tails are essentially the last section of the dog's spine. A dog's tail can include as many as 23 vertebrae. Shorter natural full tails can have as few as six vertebrae. Some dogs are born with no tail or a tail that is naturally very short and stubby.

---

The tail is actually an extension of the dog's backbone. Some dog tails are long, while others are itty-bitty stubs barely poking out of their bums. The fast-paced appendage is made up of muscles and bones that work together to create movement