What is a substitute for two tablespoons of butter?

It depends on the recipe. On quick breads (not yeast-based) like banana bread, gingerbread, or zucchini muffins, you can substitute applesauce for the moistness that butter provides. Other choices are vegetable oil or margarine. In some recipes you can omit it altogether, like waffles or pancakes.