Why were marshmallows invented?

Marshmallows were invented as and used as medicine too sooth coughs and sore throats as well as heal wounds. Ancient Egyptians as early as 2000 BCE would boil pieces of root pulp with honey until thick. Once thickened the mixture was strained, cooled, then used as intended

---

Ancient Egyptians were said to be the first to make and use the root of the plant to soothe coughs and sore throats and to heal wounds. The first marshmallows were prepared by boiling pieces of root pulp with honey until thick. Once thickened, the mixture was strained, cooled, then used as intended.