Why do dogs like to play tug of war?

It's a form of competitive play that two dogs can enjoy. It mimics the shaking and killing of prey, and possibly also tearing meat from a carcass, both useful activities for canines in the wild

---

Tug of War is a healthy display of their predatory nature and provides great mental and physical exercise for your dog. It also reinforces the human-canine bond.

---

There are several reasons, but, historically, wild dogs began this behavior while cooperating in tearing apart an animal they killed to make it easier to eat.