How do you trees work?

Trees gather light for photosynthesis through their leaves; this process creates “food” for the tree. Most of a tree trunk is dead tissue & serves only to support the weight of the tree crown.The outside layers of the tree trunk are the only living portion.The cambium produces new wood and new bark