Why is indian summer called indian summer?

The exact origins of the term are uncertain, but it is thought to have been based on the warm and hazy conditions in autumn when Native Americans chose to hunt. The phrase first became well known in the early 19th century.

---

The exact origins are uncertain, it was perhaps so-called, because it was first noted in regions inhabited by Native Americans ("Indians"), or because the Native Americans first described it to Europeans, or it had been based on the warm and hazy conditions in autumn, when Native Americans hunted.