What is the largest civil war ever?

The Chinese Civil War, fought between nationalists and a communist movement, lasted from 1927 to 1950. In the end, the nationalists lost and escaped to Taiwan. The communists, under Mao Tse-tung, established the People’s Republic of China. More than 8 million people were killed during the war.