How long should i water my grass?

Lawns need at least 1 inch a week. Next time you water, place a glass in the area that is being watered. Check the time when you start. If it takes one hour to fill the glass 1 inch, You need to water on hour a week. Divide this in half and water twice a week for half an hour.