What was the first k-pop group?

Seo Taiji and Boys is the first band that resembles the K-pop music and mega fandom we have today. Seo Taiji revolutionized Korean Pop music by merging it with popular American music. They coupled the new brand of music with hip-hop choreography, and K-pop was born.