How long have megalodons been extinct?

We know that the megalodon had become extinct by the end of the Pliocene period (2.6 million years ago ), when the planet entered a phase of global cooling. Precisely when the last megalodon died is not known, but new evidence suggests that it was at least 3.6 million years ago.