What is the isis terrorist group?

ISIS, or The Islamic State, is a militant organization that emerged from al Qaeda in 2014, and was founded by Abu Bakr al-Baghdadi. It took control of large parts of Iraq and Syria, and imposed strict Islamic rule. ISIS often uses many brutal tactics, such as torture or beheadings.