How did the amber alert get its name?

It was named for nine year old Amber Hagerman who was abducted and murdered in 1996.

---

The Amber Alert originated in the United States in 1996. AMBER is an acronym for America's Missing: Broadcast Emergency Response. The alert was named after Amber Hagerman, a 9-year-old girl abducted in Arlington, Texas in 1996.