When was gelatin invented?

That's a unique question. Gelatin was first discovered in 1682, when a Denis Papin, a Frenchman, conducted experiments and research on the subject. It wasn't until 1900 that the popular consumer brand Jell-O began to appear at banquets and fancy dinners.