Who wrote the song west virginia?

In late 1970, songwriters Billy Danoff and his wife Taffy Nivert had been working on a ballad about winding roads that they'd thought up while on a trip through western Maryland. The only problem was that the three syllables of Maryland didn't fit the meter of the song.