What is docsis three point one?

DOCSIS or data over cable service interface specification provides an international industry standard for high speed Internet access over hybrid fiber coax, basically high speed Internet from cable companies. DOCSIS 3.1 was introduced in 2013 and increased the speed and capacity of the service.