Why is the funny bone called the funny bone?

Because the actual name of that particular bone is called the Humerus. There are a ton of little nerves around that bone that actually causes your hand to go numb hence the funny feeling you get whenever you smack it Or bump it.

---

The "funny bone" got its nickname because of that funny feeling you get after you hit it.But your funny bone isn't actually a bone at all. Running down the inside part of your elbow is a nerve called the ulnar nerve.The ulnar nerve lets your brain know about feelings in your fourth and fifth fingers